Can You Really Rent a Coder?

I've been a fan of Dan Appleman for about as long as I've been a professional programmer. He is one of my heroes. Unfortunately, Dan only blogs rarely, so I was heartened to see a spate of recent blog updates from him. One of the entries asks a question I've often wondered myself: can you really rent a coder?

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2008/11/can-you-really-rent-a-coder.html

but I’d be highly suspicious of any professional developer who can’t find a stable, long term relationship with a client eventually.

Rent A Coder is exactly how I found stable, long term clients. I havn’t been back in over 5 years now, havn’t needed to, but they certainly got the ball rolling for me.

It’s a great starting place, for both buyers and sellers.

• You will be competing with people around the world
  • Many of the projects are unrealistic
  • A lot of projects go bad

How is this different than offline development experience ?

Surely you can demonstrate better value to your employer than the random, anonymous programmers on Elance, guru.com, RentACoder, or oDesk – right?

Only if my employer can display better judgment than sheer greed.

Unfortunately, Dan only blogs rarely… just like Jeff? :slight_smile:

@ejunker
That’s because Kevin (and digg PR) are prone to making up shit. A. It wasn’t done through elance, and B. They paid me a lot more than $200 (try 70 times more plus equity). The only hint of truth to it is that I did work on elance up to about a year before, and some of it for Kevin.

third

I used RentACoder for two personal projects of mine. Both were websites that I wanted to build, that I just didn’t have time to build myself (new baby, full time job). I must say for this, it worked great, and very affordable, but there were some caveats.