Are Web Interfaces "Good Enough"?

Torrent, my favorite BitTorrent client, now offers a web UI. See if you can spot the differences between the Web UI and the Windows UI:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2007/03/are-web-interfaces-good-enough.html

That article by Joel Spolsky is just about the most intelligent thing I’ve read in a long time.

I’m agreeing with Karl G here, especially since it is most likely a rich client (non web) creating the backing data for the app. Theres sort of no reason other than the amount of time and need to implement the display of the missing information on the web. Now if we are talking about creating an entirely web based torrent application that just runs on a web server then that might be a different story but I am not an expert on torrent protocol or network programming but if there is a PHP library that could initiate a transfer with the tracker and then recieve an address it could bind to and pull data from theres sort of no reason that couldn’t be implemented either.

Applications vs User Interfaces:

Many people here are confusing UI with Applications. UI is only part of an application, not the entire application. Even the author seems to blur this definition a little too much IMHO. My guess is that, from a functionality perspective, the two applications are very similar. The fact that the web application is accessible remotely gives it an edge if you ask me.

Some might say that standalone applications have the advantages of working offline and access to stateful storage. These issues are being addressed by libraries (DOJO) and browser technology improvements. I suspect that if there is a will, there is a way. These issues will eventually be resolved, like many others.

Flash vs Javascript: