Computer Languages aren't Human Languages

Though I've become agnostic about the utterly meaningless non-choice between VB.NET and C#, the inherited syntax of C leaves a lot to be desired, in my opinion. And not just in the case sensitivity department. Daniel Appleman, in his excellent e-book, VB.NET or C#, Which to Choose?, concurs:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2006/08/computer-languages-arent-human-languages.html

i’ve never used AppleScript, either, but if it’s not COBOL in lower case; it’s hard to imagine what else could be. gad.

Yeah, but in some languages writing FORTRAN-style code is considered the epitome of good practice.

Assembler?

APL?

Intercal?

Brainf*ck?

I have some experience with AppleScript, and it’s as bad as it seems. But.

The problems of AppleScript are not inherent in the fact that it tries to mimic natural language. It does so poorly and incompletely and with ill-defined boundaries, and that makes it look bad. It has other, more serious, problems; the specific one I remember is that support for it is application-dependent; application developers are (or were - it’s been a long time) required to define their own dictionaries and implement language support themselves. Some, needless to say, did a better job than others.

What was tantalizing and mind-blowingly frustrating about trying to use AppleScript is how much it looked like HyperTalk - the successfully English-like language of HyperCard. HyperTalk really did read, on occasion, like poetry. It was entirely application-specific, and the only classes were predefined. It was interpreted and occasionally confusing. And it drew a lot of amateur programmers in and they wrote a lot of amateur programs. But on the whole I have to say it was a genuine success as a language.

I don’t see what’s not clear, or verbose enough, about the following. It’s concise.

public class BClass: AClass, Iint