How to Motivate Programmers

There's an inherent paradox in motivating programmers. I think this Geek Hero Comic illustrates it perfectly:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2009/05/how-to-motivate-programmers.html

Giddy up! Thanks for the tips, will try them this week.

Someone funnier than me that I used to work with described our Operations Director as taking a carrot and stick approach to motivation - except that the carrot was really big, and he’d hit you with it.

I strongly recommend that you read The Psychology of Computer Programming by Weinberg and please, please, please do not espouse this kind of stuff. As a hiring manager I would never want to hire a programmer who is so proud of their code that somebody rewriting their code motivates them. There is a very big difference in “taking pride” in your work and “being proud” of your work. I will take the former any day and shun the latter any day. Most projects are about team work and rewrites are a fact of life. I would go so far as to say the if you are not rewriting/refactoring your code, you are missing something big that will come back to bite you.

If you want to motivate a programmer, understand that if the programmer cannot find something in the project that appeals to them, you will not get 100% from the person. Programmers IMO need to be challenged, but with tough, new or complex (not the same as tough) problems not by appealing to their egos and touching off an internecine war. Part of their work needs to be in an area that they are interested in. They need to have the flexibility to work when they want where they want (within limits of course). Provide them the resources required to get the job done and learn at the same time. Some form of free food also helps. If they still need extra motivation maybe its time for an honest conversation with them as to what they want to do and why its not working.

Just my $.02