How to Write Technical Documentation

I was browsing around the CouchDb wiki yesterday when I saw Damien Katz' hilarious description of how technical documentation really gets written. You know, in the real world:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2006/08/how-to-write-technical-documentation.html

The good tech writers I knew used an audio recorder for step 8.

As a tech writer, I find it’s a hell of a lot easier to take the program and figure out how it works myself.

Heh, heh. We’ve been trying out having the developers scrawl some useful but geeky notes on the wiki once they finish on feature. The notes are details of the actual implementation that testers and tech writers might use to help get them started.

Seems to working not too bad so far.

Sad but true. Of course, I would blame the developer since, if they have built something without any use cases, requirements or screen layouts that specify what that something is, then it is highly likely that what they have built won’t do any non-technical user any good. Additionally, I’d blame the tech writer since, if the software is nearly complete and they have not raised any red flags about missing use cases or requirements then they have very clearly dropped the ball. And, of course, I blame management who consistently lets this happen over and over and over again.