PHP Sucks, But It Doesn't Matter

Here's a list of every function beginning with the letter "A" in the PHP function index:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2008/05/php-sucks-but-it-doesnt-matter.html
1 Like

PHP sucks is incredible misinformed. Any language can be considered to suck if it’s being written by a programmer who sucks. Yes, the functions are doubled in cases and yes, the parameter lists are annoying at times, but PHP can be just as elegant as any other language, if not more, if a good programmer is writing the code.

Furthermore, compare its execution speed with any of its competitors and I’d bet for PHP more often than not.

I used to be a C# programmer and I have found that with PHP, I am far more productive, I enjoy my programming time significantly more, and my applications are more elegant. Obviously this is subjective, but isn’t part of the point of programming to enjoy it, to create elegant solutions, and be productive?

Anyway, that’s my 2 cents.

1 Like

Don’t mix-up bad programmers with a bad language, most PHP code out the looks crappy and ugly because of bad programmers. It is totally possible to make good working beautiful coded applications where code, data and context is separated.

PHP is as good as C and almost as forgiving, this means that the programmer needs to put more discipline into short, readable and good commented code.

I’m surprised that the dollar sign thing in PHP doesn’t get critique. Every single time Python is mentioned to an audience, who likely have no idea what it is, the use of white space is mentioned as if some kind of original sin that makes whole language impure. I honestly can’t understand how anyone with experience from any other language can stand PHP’s requirement to use dollar signs to tell the interpreter that the next thing is a variable.