The Mysterious Cone of Uncertainty

One of the central themes in McConnell's Software Estimation: Demystifying the Black Art is the ominously named Cone of Uncertainty. The cone defines statistically predictible levels of project estimate uncertainty at each stage of the project.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2006/06/the-mysterious-cone-of-uncertainty.html

When I was a freshman in Engineering at UCSB, our professor for Engineering 1 told us about the e to pi rule. The idea is that whenever the engineer says how long it will take or how much it will cost, multiply that by something between e and pi to get a more accurate estimate.

I love the reference to the “cloud uncertainty” because i was thinking about the same thing…

I’ve been stuck at 99% of my current project for the last two weeks.

But today, it will be finished, right?

having been involved in various contracting (real, physical building things type) companies, mixed in with this software stuff, what remains true is that real engineers keep track of their experience/history. Such that, at time t=1, they have a set of defined tasks they didn’t have at time t=0, for which they have realized resource requirements. Thus, over time, they accumulate a set of tasks/resource requirements. From this set, call them widgets, they can figure out, with increasing accuracy, what a project (assembled from these known widgets) will cost.

I have not yet, in 30 years, seen a software organization that did this. The universal reason given: “we never do the same thing twice, so collecting performance data is a waste of time”. Thus, all estimates are pulled kicking and screaming from the sphincter of MBA project managers who think Excel macros are programs.

call my cynical.