The Three Faces of About Face

I bought my copy of Alan Cooper's classic About Face in 1995. I remember poring over it, studying its excellent advice, reveling in its focus on the hot new UI paradigms standardized in Windows 95-- toolbars, menus with icons, tabbed dialogs, and so forth. Seems quaint now, if not borderline obsolete, but this was 12 whole years ago. That's almost a lifetime in computer dog-years.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2007/06/the-three-faces-of-about-face.html

Hi Jeff,

Its an interesting coincidence that you post this now as I’m a CS student who’s currently looking into the books we’re supposed to buy for the next semester. One of the books is about interaction design and here you are claiming to have the holy grail of said subject. I don’t know if you, or anyone else reading this, know of the book “Jenny Preece, Yvonne Rogers Helen Sharp (2002) Interaction Design: Beyond Human-Computer Interaction” but if you can tell me how the two books compare I would be mightily happy.

I’d much prefer to have a good book I can refer to in the future than a mediocre book that fits better with the course, if possible.

Btw, it’s my first post on this awesome site. Keep up the good work Jeff.

Hey Jeff,

Alright, I bought the book as well as joined Amazon’s Prime Membership thing. I hope you get the affiliate credit you deserve! :slight_smile:

I’m struggling right now with needing to simplify user interfaces for a fairly large C# rewrite of a 7 year old data intense VB6 project. If this book is as good as you say it is and is able to help me to think differently and make this project possible (by the due date of Jan 1, ack), then you better believe I’ll take more of your recommendations seriously when I see them! PR0F1T!!1!!1!! :slight_smile:

Anyways, take care Jeff. Thanks, as always, for sharing your thoughts.

I sleep now. Can’t wait to start reading tomorrow. :slight_smile: