What If They Gave a Browser War and Microsoft Never Came?

Two weeks ago, Apple announced a new version of WebKit, the underlying rendering technology of their Safari web browser. The feature list is impressive:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2007/11/what-if-they-gave-a-browser-war-and-microsoft-never-came.html

As a most-of-the-time web developer, I hate browsers.

I found myself thinking one day, “What if there was some kind of standard by which browser developers could follow and implement, so development for web applications was less painful and more enjoyable? What if every browser could pass the CSS acid test – if not perfectly, then at least in the same way?”

I’m sure everyone knows the mallet that landed on my head.

Taking all indicators into account, which are a cancelled PDC 2007, Windows Vista, Silverlight and WPF, I believe Microsoft is preparing for the big coup: They must be working on a project with the codename “Active Desktop”. This means that the next release of IE and the client OS will be bundled and going to be released as WIEndows (ween dos).

I think Microsoft will do what they always do - as soon as all the competition is presented they will release a competent browser that covers all of the latest technologies and features, but that contains no new innovations.

You can see the pattern from Windows Media Player. It gets prettier and more features get added, but its features that just keep up with the latest technologies. There is absolutely NOTHING exceptional about later versions of WMP except that it maybe caters for a very broad range of uses. But again, with all the little uses in the range it does not stand out from other apps dedicated solely the use.