Why Ruby?

I've been a Microsoft developer for decades now. I weaned myself on various flavors of home computer Microsoft Basic, and I got my first paid programming gigs in Microsoft FoxPro, Microsoft Access, and Microsoft Visual Basic. I have seen the future of programming, my friends, and it is terrible CRUD apps running on Wintel boxes!

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2013/03/why-ruby.html

What I’m looking forward to/hoping for, is the open source community to reimplement Discourse’s backend in other languages. Why? Well I do a shedload of PHP work, on PHP sites, where a modern forum (especially a moder AND secure forum) would be greatly welcomed. But being customers with PHP sites, on PHP infrastructure, they’re not going to have a Ruby forum.

Or on a subdomain, not until the SEO benefits are the same as a subfolder…

Here’s looking forward to a language-agnostic world, one thing .NET did get right!

Still, we obtained the absolute fastest CPUs you could buy for the Discourse servers, 4.0 Ghz Ivy Bridge Xeons, and performance is just … good on today’s fastest hardware. Not great. Good.

Thank you for making me feel good for staying with Python.

Jokes aside, good luck with your project, it looks really interesting! (And at least it’s not on .NET)

I am genuinely curious how you have felt about and handled the recent spate of vulnerabilities?

I think there’s a deeper Ruby pysche thing at play here: http://williamedwardscoder.tumblr.com/post/43394068341/ (my blog post about the vulnerabilities)

You say “I think you can see a future not too far in the distance where .NET is a specialized niche outside the mainstream”

Why is that?

Nice to see how you completely avoided to mention PHP. :slight_smile: