Do Certifications Matter?

Name any prominent software technology, and you'll find a certification program for that technology. For a fee, of course.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2007/01/do-certifications-matter.html

I am a developer. I have been my entire life. I have exactly zero degrees and certifications.

I have noticed, at least from my travels, that the bigger the education, the smaller the usefulness. This is not always true, but often is. I do not know how many people I have worked with who were completely useless despite doctorates and masters degrees. On the other hand, I have worked with many briliant self taught programmers.

I think I know why. Some people say “computers pays good, but I don’t understand them. I should go to school.” These are also the people who do not have PC’s at home, and would never consider programming “for fun.” There are also others who truly understan them, and think in the way necessary (and it is a different way of thinking than the general public) and write software out of a love for it, and not just because they think that it will make a nice fat paycheck.

All certificates and diplomas are leaky abstractions.

You left out my favorite one, the PMP “(Project Management Professional)”! This one means that you can make a Gantt chart in Microsoft Project, and that you have all of the skills necessary to expect that your projects will not fail, and to inform your subordinates that the project is “really important beacuse …” in order to motivate them when your schedule slips.

Of course, it’s important not to mix up certain industry designations with certifications (which I’m sure many are wont to do). For example, a Microsoft SQL Server MVP pretty much has the cred to be on a SQL Server project of mine any day. Anyone else know of/believe in any “instant credibility” designations?