Giving Up on Microsoft

Although I am generally platform agnostic, I make no secret of the fact that I am primarily a Microsoft developer. In a way, I grew up with Microsoft-- as a teenager, I cut my programming teeth on the early microcomputer implementations of Microsoft BASIC. And I spent much of my professional life writing Visual Basic code. When Microsoft rebooted their programming franchise with .NET in 2003, I was thrilled and reinvigorated, glad to finally have a viable exit strategy from the glass house that was Visual Basic.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2007/05/giving-up-on-microsoft.html
2 Likes

Even worse are the poeple that make a living on the microsoft stack that have nothing but negative things to say about everything Microsoft. It’s hard to work with people that have such a low opinions of themselves and how they make a living.

I wholeheartedly agree. I can see this being a post I link a lot of people to when they frustrate me.

1 Like

Like the post and I do agree that there is always more than one way to solve a problem. I work in a development team using Microsoft products and whilst I do spend some of my spare time trying to stay on top of other technologies there are so many these days there is just not enough time in the week (especially if u try and have a social life as well!). Someone needs to create a matrix style brain feed and my problem will be solved!

Well, Mike Gunderloy is a bit of a societal “drop-out” (and I say that with respect, not derision), so it doesn’t shock me that he’d be inclined to give up on Microsoft.