How Long Would It Take if Everything Went Wrong?

I'm currently reading Steve McConnell's new book, Software Estimation: Demystifying the Black Art. The section on individual expert judgment provided one simple reason why my estimates are often so horribly wrong:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2006/06/how-long-would-it-take-if-everything-went-wrong.html

As a program manager, my estimation method would be to take the “best case scenario” and multiply it by three. This is my within-team estimate that I will use to set the team working to.

I will take the worst-case scenario and multiply it by eight. This is what I will tell management. Then, if it looks like the team will be done early, I look like a hero to management.

Johanna Rothman has a lot to say about project estimation. This podcast is a pretty good starting point:
http://www.itconversations.com/shows/detail392.html
as is her blog:
http://www.jrothman.com/weblog/blogger.html

I am absolutely TERRIBLE at estimating the time it takes for project development. I was hoping experience would change that. If seasoned veterans still have issues (Jeff?), is there any hope for me?

“You’ll also notice that both the Best Case and Worst Case estimates are higher than the original single-point estimate.”

Huh? It seems to me that 10.5 is less than 11.25.

Ugh, I can’t believe how many commenters are repeating the “take the estimate and multiply it by ‘X’” approach. That’s exactly what the book says not to do.

Here’s a suggestion to use when estimating someone else’s time:

Estimate = (1Best case estimate)+(2Realistic estimate)+(4*Worst case estimate) / 7

It weighs the estimate towards the worst case, but takes the best case and expected estimate into account.