Is there an optimal piracy rate?

I've recently been struggling with a number of racing sims I bought to use after work hours in our new racing cockpit. I'm a big believer in supporting developers. I'm a developer myself. But digging around for CDs or DVDs is impractical for dedicated gaming rigs, so I install no-cd patches when I can.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2006/01/is-there-an-optimal-piracy-rate.html

I couldn’t agree more with the statement:
“Piracy helps seed technology markets.”

When I was a poor broke college student, I would steal every piece of software that I could get my hands on. I never felt guilty about it because I couldn’t afford to pay for the software even if I wanted to.

Now that I’m a developer and I actually have money to spend of software, I tend to buy the programs that I pirated in my college days because I’m already familiar with them.

I think most of the time when software is pirated, it is from someone who couldn’t or wouldn’t pay for the software anyway. So software companies aren’t loosing any money, but they are gaining market reputation.

Instead of game-specific no-CD cracks, you might want to try Game Jackal ( http://www.gamejackal.com ).

That’s a very clever program that inserts a stub on the Windows driver level between the CD/DVD drive and the application. First you start up your game normally, CD in drive, and let GJ record the data that’s transmitted through the driver. Later you just let GJ play back the recorded data for that game, and no longer have to insert a CD!

Cheap, easy to use, and works very well for Civ4 and Star Wars Battlefront 2. Caveat: I think GJ still has trouble with StarForce – check the forums on their website for discussions on that subject.