Making Developers Cry Since 1995

Michael Hunter's blog byline is unapologetically over-the-top: making developers cry since 1995.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2006/09/making-developers-cry-since-1995.html

I can definitely attest to the fact that, as a professional developer, I hate testing. Debugging, fixing, no problem. Testing, ugh. I just find it so darn tedious. Though I have to admit, I have only begun to play with some of the sophisticated test suites available now. Maybe those really do help alleviate some tedium. But I also worry that they will just result in a false sense of security.

Oh, and also…

Holy buckets. That terrifying photo will surely haunt my nightmares for the rest of my days.

Thank you.

I’m all over TDD; unit tests rock. But the kind of testing you’re talking about? I’m awful at it. I get bored filling out the same UI, so I just plug in the same values I used the last 20 times. (=

Bane of my existence : Testing.
I cried when I saw that list. But, I have to admit… its true v: It does help - but does NOT mean that I have to like it…

I’m with Jerry. I have never (repeat, never) worked with an excellent tester. Plenty of average ones, lots of below average ones, and a few good ones. (The same can be said for developers, now I think of it.)
That’s in 10 years of professional development and about a dozen organisations, from blue chip to small software houses. Have I been unlucky? I doubt it.

I agree that developers don’t make excellent testers (that’s what users are for :wink: but I’m darn sure that I test a lot of stuff that most testers wouldn’t.