Meet the Arch-Nemesis of Productivity: The Internet

In a world of 43Folders* and dozens of other blogs that worship at the altar of Getting Things Done, it's a little surprising that nobody has taken aim at the #1 enemy of productivity everywhere: The Internet.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2006/06/meet-the-arch-nemesis-of-productivity-the-internet.html

But internet is also a great resource. Every time I get stuck on some difficult programming problem, I hit google to find some answers. And more often than not, I find useful information somewhere.

It’s also great when I need to do something that I have never done before. I find it extremely helpful to look at available examples, and code snippets before I start working on a new project.

Not to mention support groups and forums where you can get in touch with all sorts of experts, and get helpful advice.

Sure, keeping up with all the blogs and webcomics hurts my productivity but it also is a very useful research and communication tool.

Just like with everything else, it’s all about self discipline.

jeff - did you draw that? who knew you had such artistic talents?

It’s ironic that I am reading this instead of getting on with my (mind-numbingly boring) task of string externalisation…

(and no, we can’t automate it - 90% of cases are special cases :S)

“it’s hard to sip from a firehose of information”

thats one great line, man…I enjoy your blog tremendously…thanks!!

I had no idea that Jeff was so old, if indeed that picture is accurate. Also, I didn’t know they had the internet on typewriters.

@doomedforsuccess: I don’t think that it is the garbage that takes our time, so that you have to spend hours to separate signal from noise (ok, maybe when you’re browsing MSDN; these are things like this blog, e-mail, IM and hundred other things that interrupt your work/think-flow.

Did anyone check http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_boxing ?