Reinventing the Clipboard

Over time, I've become something of a desktop mimimalist. Sure, I'll change a few settings to my liking, but I no longer spend a lot of time customizing my desktop configuration. I've learned that if the defaults aren't reasonably close to correct out of the box, then the software is probably doomed anyway. For most users the default settings are the only settings.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2008/01/reinventing-the-clipboard.html

www.Clipmate.com

This program is so awesome that I can safely say it gives me an edge over other developers (I’m a freelancer) that don’t use it.

It helps me remeber what I was working on this morngin, shows screenshot, has shortcuts and is very stable.

Regards, Tom

SDIZ,

"The problem is – clipboard seldom really store those data, but only store a reference to those data. In this way, the client can request for alternative formats of the copied data.

if you don’t know what i means, try to copy something from excel and parse to notepad, excel and word… all shown in different formats."

The clipboard can contain multiple formats of the same data at the same time. They have to be put on the clipboard as part of the same operation, and there can only be 1 item of each clipboard format. The program doing the paste can look at the formats available, and pick one or give the user a choice.

As to why anyone would want multiple items on the clipboard, I use this on a daily basis, especially when I’m adding new functionality across an entire code base and have 3 or 4 different strings that I’m going to be using repeatedly.

(“The other mysteriously missing should-be-standard clipboard feature is “Paste as unformatted text” (which some apps support through “paste special”, but not all). I’ve come to rely on PureText to provide this feature, and I use it often.”)