Skill Disparities in Programming

I am hardly the world's best programmer. I'll be the first to tell you that there are tons of developers out there better than I am. But here's the thing: in the ten years I've been gainfully employed as a so-called professional programmer, I can count the number of truly great programmers I've worked with on one hand. I know this probably sounds like hopeless elitism, but hear me out: there's something unique about our profession that leads to an unusually profound disparity in skill.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2004/09/skill-disparities-in-programming.html

That’s EXACTLY what I am thinking! I am glad you pointed that out! I think you should publish this blog entry on EVERY major news site, so people GET it and we get rid of those crappy programmers who prog just for the money (implying that they are not as good as programmers who LOVE to develop software!)

At the risk of being redundant (well, it isn’t that bad in the literary realm :slight_smile: – my thoughts, exactly. For me, programming is more of an art form and I truly enjoy it, and this is more than paying mere lip service.

By that, I mean reading several technical magazines, buying and reading lots of books, attending conferences like the PDC (paid my own fare last year), browsing blogs and spelunking around w/ the copious Beta stuff that MS keeps churning out, etc…

Of course, you won’t always be rewarded coz people seldom judged by sheer technical skill alone – especially if you work for a large (non software) company where you have a lot of other BS – but as someone put it, the reward is the journey itself.
And that, my friends, is the Zen of a true programmer…

Atul