That's Not a Bug, It's a Feature Request

For as long as I've been a software developer and used bug tracking systems, we have struggled with the same fundamental problem in every single project we've worked on: how do you tell bugs from feature requests?

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2008/11/thats-not-a-bug-its-a-feature-request.html

This idea of there being no Bugs vs. Features distinction in the user’s mind is certainly one that is valid. However, what if your software is being written in the context of a contract with a fixed budget?

This distinction becomes very, very important. It’s all about who has to pay for it. Bugfixes generally happen on the contractor’s dime, whereas new features generally require the client to fork over some extra cash. It’s a distinction that is far too consequential to ignore.

It’s also consequential within the context of the internal development process. Have you ever worked for a lousy project manager who can’t write requirements and specifications? I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been inundated with bugs where the project manager incorrectly articulated her intent. When the project is over-budget and the axe starts swinging, you need to be able to make the case that My PM gave me a last-minute feature request and called it a ‘bug’ so that A) it has to be done before it goes out the door, and B) the blame can be shifted to me. (I realize that this represents an awful working environment, but sometimes we find ourselves there.)

UserVoice also blurs the line between system components (by not providing a way of tagging issues by component). It blurs the line between visual glitches and behavioral issues by failing to provide any facility for attaching screenshots. And it blurs the line between brief comments and detailed reports by failing to support the latter.