The Great Enterprise Software Swindle

After nearly four years working for a Fortune 50 company, I am now completely convinced that the term "Enterprise", as applied to software, is synonymous with "crappy".

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2005/03/the-great-enterprise-software-swindle.html

Good comment, Jeff! :slight_smile:

Many years ago I did work on programmable logic for a system I was working on. At that time, I formulated a rule of software: The more it costs, the less it works. We paid $5000 for a piece of software which allowed one to program and simulate these devices. What the app does is NOT simple, but the bug count was astounding.

I think the more it costs, the less users you have, and somehow that turns into ‘spend less on QA’. Sad really.

Agreed! In addition to being a programmer, I have been an adminsitrator for both Oracle Financials and Peoplesoft. I can tell you that both of these products are absolutely horrible. There’s no excuse for it, but the big corporations just keep buying the junk lilke it’s candy…

Of course, both of those products are implemented in Java, but that’s another story (or is it?)…

Well, when you have an extremely complex multi-server distributed application being written b y a friend of the boss who once read “Learn Vistula* Basic 4 in 21 Days”, you have to expect certain sacrifices…

*(No, that’s not a typo; the title refers to a knock-off product from a company in the CIS that closed it’s doors in 1999.)

I used to work for a software company exactly like this. They sell ‘enterprise’ systems for the insurance market. The software is terrible, and riddled with bugs, but they continue to sell it to this day and make an enormous amount of money from bug-fixing. They have no formal design process, do no RD and have no formal development process. (The application is written in VB6 and is comprised of 1500+ (count 'em) COM components shiver)