The Software Imprinting Dilemma

Ducklings and goslings imprint on the first creature they see shortly after birth.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2007/07/the-software-imprinting-dilemma.html

Try Ubuntu :slight_smile:

You have just explained why people still use Visual SourceSafe.

It’s really sad to see that imprinting is such a strong characteristic of even developers that VSS still even EXISTS, especially given the existence of products that are superior in every way and free.

This is why I started playing with NetBSD at home. I liked it enough that it’s the only thing on my main desktop. I do need to learn more about editors for it though, because I’d really rather use KDevelop than Vim for programming projects, but I still hate the automake system…

I’ve totally experienced this. In fact, that’s probably the reason why I’m still using Windows nagware on my Linux box [1]. I just can’t find anything else with the same feature set, and I’m addicted to using those features.

[1] http://www.brainonfire.net/2007/04/26/windows-nagware-on-linux-box/

I think our IT department imprinted on Lotus Notes.

I agree that acquiring some level of experience with different editors/IDEs is very valuable. It has made me much more critical and curious about my user/developing experience, and how to make it better: shortcuts, add-ons, habits that might need changing…

I’m paid to work with C#/Visual Studio, but try very hard to come back to Java/Eclipse as much as possible for personal projects. I had experience working in Eclipse doing Java for at least a couple years before getting into .NET and thus VS2003. At first I hated VS because it was so far behind (or missing altogether) several of the Eclipse features that impressed me. With VS2005, the gap narrowed, and with ReSharper even more, but then my time working with Eclipse is also shrinking.