There Ain't No Such Thing as the Fastest Code

I was tickled to see that James Hague chose The Zen of Assembly Language Programming as one of five memorable books about programming. I wholeheartedly agree. Even if you never plan to touch a lick of assembly code in your entire professional career, this book is a fantastic and thoroughly useful read. I was a mere Visual Basic programmer when I found this book (along with The Zen of Code Optimization), picked it up on a lark, and I could barely put it down. It's that good.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2008/02/there-aint-no-such-thing-as-the-fastest-code.html

I’m glad that I’m being educated in a world where such obsessions are not as vital. But still, it’s not about the craft of optimizing, it’s about understending what happens behinde your average code. Understanding that probably will make your day-to-day code more efficient.

The geek in me loves this sort of thing, but the reality is that doing the wrong thing quickly is worse that doing the right thing slowly.

Optimizing word-counting programs is fine, but figuring out why the user wants to know the number of words and making sure you are solving the problem (aka filling the need) is more important that coming up with the answer, even the right one.

Cheers

I’ve had this book in my shelf since it was published. It was then intresting reading, and it still is.

Game of Life optimization challenge/examples are great in fact that they show optimization is much more than just fidling few asm cycles off here’n’there. Optimization often is about finding new way how to look your data.

Wow! That takes me back. I remember every time an article or book by Mr. Abrash came out, I would carefully read every word. I think I still have my copy of Zen. Good stuff!

I loved the chapters on the cycle eaters, especially the DRAM refresh. The rest of the book is absolutely win as well.