Vampires (Programmers) versus Werewolves (Sysadmins)

Kyle Brandt, a system administrator, asks Should Developers have Access to Production?

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2010/08/vampires-programmers-versus-werewolves-sysadmins.html

also, hat tip to Bess Sadler for the concept!

http://code4lib.org/conference/2010/sadler

The chasm between developers and sysadmins is really nothing more than a responsibility boundary issue (i.e., who gets to wake up at 3AM to fix something) which has grown out of proportion in way too many companies, unfortunately.

Fortunately, people are starting to notice how this can affect negatively their companies – check out the Devops movement (not associated with them, though I find their ideals really aspiring):

http://www.jedi.be/blog/2010/02/12/what-is-this-devops-thing-anyway/

Agreed. I’m a programmer by trade, but I tend to get along better with system administrator people. Weird, huh?

I also feel that people should develop a wide range of skills spanning programming, system administration and project planning. This tends to give people more empathy for the other “roles” in the company.

As a former Sys Admin, and Aspiring Developer (So that makes me Michael from Underworld? an Abomination). Why do you think you need access to production servers? and what level of access do you think you need? The werewolves are (were?) the daylight guardians of the vampires.

When both the developer and the sysAdmin are excellent at their jobs, there is no problem.

The real problem is crappy sysAdmins getting in the way of good developers or viceversa.

It was an excellent presentation, the video doesn’t seem to be linked yet on the code4lib pages but volunteers have been adding them to the Internet Archive (possibly elsewhere).

http://www.archive.org/details/Code4Lib2010VampiresVsWerewolves