What's Your Backup Strategy?

Jamie Zawinski's public service backup announcement starts off with a bang:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2008/01/whats-your-backup-strategy.html

No love for Windows Complete PC Backup and Restore? :wink:

What’s that quote? “There are two kinds of people in the world: Those who have experienced catastrophic hard drive failure, and those who will experience catastrophic hard drive failure.”

I have been using acronis for several years now, but with a simpler strategy than outlined in the article. I simply backup everything to an external usb drive every afternoon using an Acronis scheduled job (Acronis Workstation). Acronis’ ability to mount a backup image as a disk has bailed me out a few times too. Like when I’ve changed some source code I really didn’t want to change either inadvertently or with extreme stupidity. Just mount yesterday’s backup and replace the damaged files.

Honestly, I had no idea that Windows Complete PC Backup and Restore even existed:

Vista Business, Ultimate, Enterprise, and Smoky Bacon Edition have the full feature evidently.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsvista/features/details/backup.mspx

My backup strategy? I post my important data in base64-encoded little chunks in the comments on the blogs of people who actually take the necessary steps to backup their data.

U3VpdGNhc2UgY29tYmluYXRpb246IDEgMiAzIDQgNQ==
RS1tYWlsIHBhc3N3b3JkOiBwYXNzd29yZDE=

1 Like

I know it’s usually described as NOT to be used for backups but RAID does the trick pretty well.
No hassle nor cron job to launch rsync / rdiff-backup scripts, data always in sync.
With 3 drives if you’re really concerned you can for instance get a 2 HDD raid 1 array with 1 spare that would go online if one of the main drives were to fail.
Don’t know about windows or mac but on linux it’s fairly easy to set up using mdadm.