Why Can't Microsoft Ship Open Source Software?

In Codeplex wastes six months reinventing wheels, Ryan Davis has a bone to pick with Microsoft:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2008/07/why-cant-microsoft-ship-open-source-software.html

Dude, maybe I am missing the point… what about IronPython dynamic programming language http://www.codeplex.com/Wiki/view.aspx?ProjectName=IronPython and IronPython Studio (IDE) http://www.codeplex.com/IronPythonStudio Both are open source… No?

The fact is, Jeff, that both Dr. Petter and Mr. Pibb taste like carbonated prune juice. No matter how you dice it up with fancy words and distinctions.

Coke Zero baby. Diet Coke for men. Most def.

Whats the problem with MSTest?, I have been using it for about 4 months and I haven’t had any troubles. (Sorry if the verbs are messed up, English is not my first language)

Both are open source… No?

Indeed. Why don’t IronPython and IronRuby ship with Visual Studio? Why can’t I select, File, New, IronPython Project and have a first class integrated experience, just like choosing VB.NET or C#?

Do some searching and you’ll find out why this will never be – both projects both accept open source code contributions.

It’s a clone of NUnit with all new bugs and no new features, but it can be included in the box with Visual Studio and integrated into the product. It’s a one step forward, two steps back sort of affair.

By that ^^ are you suggesting that NUnit cannot be included in the box with Visual Studio and integrated in it? Because NUnit is licensed under the zlib license, which would permit exactly this kind of usage (with or without source distributed along). It’s nowhere near as restrictive as, e.g. the GPL, thus I see no reason why they cannot use NUnit instead of they’re own clone of the wheel…