Basic Design Principles for Software Developers

In my previous post, I urged developers to learn a mainstream graphics editing program. This is purely a mechanical skill, so it seemed reasonable for developers to give it a shot. If we can absorb extremely complex development environments, compilers, and databases, why not a graphics editor? But as a few commenters pointed out, competence in a graphics editor isn't enough; you also have to learn some basic design principles to use the tool effectively. Turn the tables for a moment: would it be reasonable to expect designers to learn our favorite development IDE, purely as a tool, without any guidance on how to write code, too?

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2007/05/basic-design-principles-for-software-developers.html

I’m a designer and I picked up that book for my programmer workmates, they were thrilled with it. Just remember these are guidelines that are good to stick by, if your design expertise takes you to furthers levels you should be comfortable bending the rules, but only bend them if you have good reason for doing so (you will know when the moment comes). I’m sure there’s a developer’s equivalent of this principle, I just don’t have enough expertise at programming to point out a good example :wink:

Jeff, I’m absolutely agree with you. By a coincidence, I’ve started reading Robin’s book this morning, before had seen your post. I’ve read 3 chapters by far and can say that I’m very pleased with author’s approach to explain things by example – how to improve desing by applying simple principles.

After NDDB book, I’ll proceed to Robin’s “Design Workshop”. It looks useful too, but is intended for more advanced reader.

Thanks for the tip. As a programmer I’ve always felt that I could do with something like this. Just ordered a copy and can’t wait to get started…

Finally a book I don’t need. My girlfriend is a graphic designer :wink: