I Stopped Reading Your Blog Years Ago

Emrah Diril recently asked me this via email:

I read the guy's blog too, but don't understand where this is coming from. Some people just have this tendency I suppose.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original blog entry at: http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/2009/06/i-stopped-reading-your-blog-years-ago.html
1 Like

You do realize that by Mentioning “The Susan whom shall remain Nameless” you have strengthened the presence that she has on the web. You may have even linked her to programming. Imagine looking for something on C# and her name pops up .

I honestly don’t know who Susan Boyle is. I win!

But I kinda like this blog, so I will leave a comment so as not to be ignoring it. :slight_smile:

What’s wrong with Paris Hilton?

I have been running a blog since the end of 2007 on my personal situation, mostly involving a rather complex medical condition I’m suffering from. What I have noticed is that instead of receiving mostly comments wishing me well or showing some kind of warmth and intelligence, I have mostly had to deal with criticisms from people who absolutely didn’t seem to have properly read anything but a few posts, drawn their own conclusions and posted a comment or two spewing their venom on how much they thought I was wrong and stupid and such. I think those kinds of posts would fit in at the top of the diagram in the article, at point #9.

Don’t get me wrong, there are people who read my blog who aren’t complete asshats, it’s just that they’re the least vocal, preferring to read but not comment until they see a very good reason to do so.

Now, I must say that the silence treatment is indeed my preferred way of dealing with such negative comments as well, and it seems to work quite well. I do not remove the comments as I feel that there’s no reason to not display their ignorance to the world, but I won’t comment on them either.